Thank You, 2016

bd185803be192c53e63dd837dc9d5665

As a new year approaches, many people begin to reflect on the year that is coming to an end. From observations based on social media sites and communicating with other people, these reflections usually consist of negative opinions or unfortunate events that leads them to believe the year was a horrible year and the next year will be better. From experiencing loss, heart ache, and struggle myself, I also experienced life, love, and determination.

“We have to continue to learn. We have to be open. And we have to be ready to release our knowledge in order to come to a higher understanding of reality.” – Thich Nhat Hanh

2016 should not be defined as a “shitty year”, it should be rephrased as a year that may have had shitty events. But within this year, I have learned many things about myself, other people, and life itself. I don’t want to “leave” this year with negative frustration or poor judgement just because sad and negative things happened within the year, because in all honestly, it will carry on into 2017. The only difference between the old year and the upcoming year is a new number. YOU are in control of how you perceive it.

A popular term used every year by society is “New year, new me”. I think it is fantastic that people want to better themselves, HOWEVER, I think this should be done every day instead of every year! Try rephrasing it to “New day, improved me”. My challenge for everyone is to start their 2017 with not saying “New year, new me”, but living every single day in this new year through struggle, beauty, frustration, and love with “new year, improved me”. Every. Single. Day.

I wish everyone a safe, fulfilling, and peaceful new year. Remember to better  yourself every day and to challenge yourself through wonderful and difficult times.

Nina

Leave a Reply

